Four Heavyweights to play in the Region XXIII Final Four

photo NEMCC Athletics
photo NEMCC Athletics


No. 11th ranked Pear River, Hinds, Holmes and Northeast will jump it up tonight at the Region XXIII final four in Clinton, MS on the campus of Mississippi College.

These four battle tested programs have faced adversity; they have had their "moment of truth" during their post-season runs. No doubt about it.

Pearl River made it to the final four by defeating Northwest 68-56.  Jaronn Wilkens led the way for the Wildcats, scoring 31 points and pulling down 10 rebounds for his first double-double of the season.

Hinds came from 13 points down at the half to beat Southwest 81-78.   Jordan Johnson led the scoring for Hinds by pouring in 24 points to go along with six assists and four steals.

Northeast beat Delgado 98-82. Kylon Blackmon had a career best 34 points and the Tigers shot a season high 52.9 % from three-point land.

Holmes went on the road to LSU Eunice and led wire to wire winning 79-64. The Bulldogs shot 53 percent from the floor, 40 percent from the three-point line and 84.6 percent from the free throw line. Brandon Weatherspoon led the Bulldogs with 28 points.

Here's what they're' saying:

No. 11 Pearl River (12-1) vs Holmes (13-3) 5 p.m.

Holmes head coach Jason Flanigan says, "We need to do what we have been doing all season long, defend and rebound the basketball."

Pearl River head coach Chris Oney says, "We will have to match their toughness. They also led the region in 3-point baskets made per game. We have to do a great job of not giving them open looks and keeping them out of the paint in half court. They do a great job at getting their 3's off of penetration."

Hinds (13-2) vs Northeast (14-3) 7:30 p.m.

Northeast MS head coach Cord Wright says "Hinds is very talented and very well coached. They have one of the best point guards in the league that makes them go. They play very hard and have tough kids."

Pearl River has won the last two Region championships in 2019 and again in 2020.  Holmes won the region crown in 2018 and in 2015. Northeast won the region title in 2016.


Click here for tonight's scoreboard



Mike Frazer